The Department of Igbo Adeyemi College of Education was established in 1991 as Unit in the department of Nigerian Languages until 1997 when it became a full-fledged department with three pioneer academic staff namely: Nweke Joshua, Kammelu N.C., Nnadi C.C.

At present, the department has a total of five academic staff comprising of three Chief Lecturers, one Principal Lecturer, and one Senior Lecturer. The Department has also two non- teaching staff.


The following are the programmes run in the department.

i.                     PRE-NCE Programme

ii.                    NCE programme in L1 and L2

Since its inception the department has been producing NCE graduates in Igbo Languages.