Adeyemi College host Pre-NICEGA competition

Adeyemi College of Education (ACE) Ondo on Wednesday June 1, 2016 hosted the Zone C preliminary stages of the 2016 edition of the Nigeria Colleges of Education games (NICEGA).
The competition was attended by sportsmen and women from Nine Colleges of Education from four states which include Ondo, Osun, Ekiti and Kwara.

Some of the Colleges of Education represented at the competition include Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo; Osun State College of Education, Ilesa; Osun State College of Education Ila Orangun as well as Ekiti State College of Education, Ikere-Ekiti.
Others present were Federal College of Education (Special) Oyo; Kwara State College of Education, Oro; kwara State College of Education (Technical), Lafiagi and Kwara State College of Education Ilorin, Kwara State.

In his address of welcome, the Provost of ACE, Prof. Olukoya Ogen, represented by the Chairman Committee of Deans in the College, Dr. Ajigbade Ikuejube, described sports as a unifying factor capable of bringing friendship, cooperation, character building as well as fostering peace and unity among people.

While quoting the words of Louives Frechettee, a one-time Deputy Secretary General of the United Nations to buttress his points, the Provost said the power of sports is far more than symbolic, it is an engine of economic growth, it is a force for gender equality, it brings youth and others from the margins, strengthening the social fabric, promotes communication and helps to heal the divisions between peoples, communities and entire nations”.

While reiterating support for sports development in the College, Prof. Ogen, stated that the various initiatives taken by his administration since assumption of office, were geared towards achieving notable objectives of games in the institution. He listed the objectives to include promotion of health, achievement of joyous living, physical fitness and promotion of harmonious development of personalities of students and teachers as well as cultivation of desirable quantities of good sportsmanship, mutual understanding and respect.

The ACE helmsman stated that it was in pursuant of the achievements of the above stated objectives, that the College accepted to host the competition in spite of paucity of funds.
Prof. Ogen commended the Chairman of the College Sports Committee, Dr. Sulaymon Mohammed Raji and other members of his team, for their effort in ensuring that the hosting of the competition became a reality.

Earlier in his address, the Chairman College Sports Committee, Dr. Sulaymon Raji explained that the competition was hosted in order to choose winners that would represent zone C at the NICEGA competition that would hold later in the year at the Federal College of Education, Obudu, Cross River State.

While thanking the College Management for financial support given to his committee, Raji said the gesture made it possible for the College to host the competition.

Also in his remark the Zonal Sports Coordinator for the Pre-NICEGA Competition, Dr. Peter Oyetunji Akinbile, lauded the Management of Adeyemi College of Education, for their effort towards development of sports in the institution. He described the construction of the College sports complex as first of its type and expressed the hope that the institution would in no distant time, bid for the full hosting of NICEGA saying the move would enable the College maximise the facilities available at the complex maximally.

The colourful ceremony featured march past, cultural display and a football match between Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo and Ekiti State College of Education, Ikere-Ekiti.
At the end of the football match, Ekiti-State College of Education Ikere-Ekiti defeated Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo by a lone goal. The game was witnessed by eminent personalities from within and outside the College.  They include the College Registrar, Mr. Felix Eniola Aderinboye, Dean School of Science, Dr. Folorunsho Balogun, Dean of Student Affairs, Mr. Olaniyi Olaluwoye; Deputy Director, Division of Student Affairs, Mr. F.A Ajayi, Head Information and Public Relations Unit, Mr. Moses Akinfolarin; Members of the College Sport Committee among others.