ACE immediate past council chair seeks restoration of university status as College inaugurates new governing council

The immediate past Chairman of the governing council of Adeyemi College of Education (ACE) Ondo, His Excellency, Ambassador Musa John Jen, has appealed to the Federal Government for the restoration of the university status of the College.

Ambassador Jen made the appeal while speaking at the formal presentation of the Chairman and members of the newly inaugurated governing council to the College community on Tuesday June 13, 2017.

The former Nigerian envoy to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, described ACE Ondo as a pace-setter and one of the best College of education in Nigeria.

He commended the Provost of the institution, Prof. Olukoya Ogen, for his outstanding leadership qualities, performance and passion for the advancement of the College, particularly his efforts at ensuring the actualization of the upgrade of the College to a University of Education.

Ambassador Musa John Jen, while thanking staff and students for their cooperation and support during his tenure, enjoined his successor, Prof. Nathaniel Chukwu Ohazurike, to continue the struggle for the upgrade of the College to a University and prayed that God would bring the dream into fruition.

Earlier in his address, the new Chairman of the Governing Council, Prof. Nathaniel Chukwu Ohazurike, commended the Management of the College and expressed satisfaction with the level of cleanliness and development of the College.

He also lauded staff and students for peaceful co-existence, unity and cooperation and assured of his readiness to make meaningful contributions to the growth and advancement of the College.

The new Governing Council Chairman while seeking cooperation and support pledged that his team would work assiduously in ensuring that the core mandate for which they were inaugurated by the Federal Government was achieved.

Meanwhile, staff and students of Adeyemi College of Education ( ACE) Ondo, were in joyous mood on Tuesday during the formal presentation of the new Chairman and members of the Governing Council in the institution.

The new Council is chaired by Prof. Nathaniel Chukwu Ohazurike. Other members are Provost of the College, Prof. Olukoya Ogen; Chief Koya Adako; Abdullahi Mohammed Lambo Yelwa; Bappayo Shehu and representative of the Federal Ministry of Education, Dr. (Mrs.) Uche Uba. Also among the new Council members are the representatives of the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE), Mr. L.C Ugwuanyi; Obafemi Awolowo University, Prof. Bayode Popoola; Alumni Association, Dr. Damian Ademulegun as well as representatives of the College Academic Board, Dr. Folorunso Balogun and Dr. Johnson Ojo.

The occasion which also featured presentation of gift items and plaques to the Chairman and members of the immediate past Governing Council drew loud applause from the audience.

While the new Chairman, Prof. Nathaniel Ohazurike presented gift to his predecessor, Amb. Musa John Jen, the Provost of the College, Prof. Olukoya Ogen performed similar exercise for other recipients which included the immediate past Provost of the College, Prof. Adeyemi Idowu (whose gift was received on his behalf by the immediate past Deputy Provost of the College), Dr Olufemi Olajuyigbe.

Other recipients were Dr. (Mrs.) Bukola Olamigoke; Mr. Kalu Amah Nkama; Dr. Olufemi Olajuyigbe; Dr. Yemi Moses Ogunsiji; Dr (Mrs.) Uche Uba and Dr. Damian Ademulegun.

Also among the list of the awardees were Prof. P.O Jegede (whose gift was received on his behalf by Prof. Bayode Popoola) ; immediate past Registrar of the College, Mr. Felix Eniola Aderinboye ( whose gift was received on his behalf by the Acting Registrar, Mrs. Olufisayo Fakorede) as well as representatives of late Mr. Barau John Piribi and Barrister Bamidele Aturu whose gifts were received by Mr. Kefas Jones and Deputy Provost of the College, Dr. Samuel Akintunde respectively.

The event which held at the Babatunde Ipaye Lecture Theatre had in attendance eminent personalities from all walks of life including members of the Rotary Club of Adeyemi and Ondo respectively, community leaders, Deans and Directors, Heads of Departments and Units as well as staff and students.

The ceremony climaxed with grand reception held at the Provost Lodge, where guests were entertained with food, drinks and cultural display.