Council Chairman commends College environment

The newly inaugurated Chairman of the Governing Council, Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo Professor Nathaniel Chukwu Ohazurike has commended the clean and peaceful environment of the College.

The chairman in his opening remarks after his formal presentation to the College Community held at the Babatunde Ipaye lecture theatre thanked the management, staff and students of the College for creating the clean and peaceful environment suitable for learning and teaching.

He promised that in collaboration with other members of the Council and the management, the council will work towards the realization of the core mandate of which they were appointed.

Other members of the Council presented by the College Provost, Professor Olukoya Ogen were: Chief Koya Adako, Government Appointee, Alhaji (Hon.) Abdullahi Muhd Lamba Yelwa; Government appointee and Alhaji Bappayo Shehu, Government appointee.

Others are: Representative of the Federal Ministry of Education, Dr. Mrs. Uche Uba; Representative of the National Commission for Colleges of Education, Mr. L.C. Ugwanyi; Representative of the University of Affiliation, Professor Bayode Popoola, Representative of Alumni Association, Dr. D.O. Ademulegun, Representatives of College Academic Board, Dr. Folorunsho Balogun and Dr. J.O. Ojo, College Provost, Professor Olukoya Ogen and the Acting Registrar, Mrs. Olufikayo Fakorede who is the secretary to the Council.


It will be recalled that the Federal Government on May 25, 2017 inaugurated the Governing Council of 24 Federal Colleges of Education in the country.

The twin packaged programme also witnessed the sendoff ceremony for the members of the immediate past Governing Council led by Ambassador Musa John Jen.

The sendoff was in recognition and appreciation of their contribution to the College from year 2013 to 2015.

In his responses, Ambassador Musa John Jen described Adeyemi Federal University of Education as a pacesetter amongst the 24 Federal Colleges of Education in the country.

He therefore challenged the new Governing Council to ensure that before the end of their tenure that the College is upgraded to a University of Education.

Besides, the symbolic hand-shake of transferring power to the new chairman, Professor Ohazurike, Ambassador John had earlier decorated the new chairman in the College Academic gown during his presentation to the college community.

Members of the immediate past Governing Council are: Dr. Mrs. Buki Olamigoke, Mr.Kalu Nkamah,  Mr. John Piribi (late), Dr. Mrs. Uche Uba, Professor P.O. Jegede, Barrister Bamidele Aturu (late).

Others are: Mr. L.C. Ugwuanyi, Professor Adeyemi Idowu, Dr. Olufemi Olajuyigbe, Dr. Yemi Ogunsiji, Dr. Damain Ademulegun and Mr. Felix Aderinboye.

The members were presented with gifts and awards in recognition of their services to the College.