ACE Provost appointed as Member, TETFund National Research Fund Committee

The Provost, Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo, Professor Olukoya Ogen has been appointed and inaugurated as a member of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) National Research Fund Screening and Monitoring Committee for a period of two years, 2017-2019.

The 20 member Committee which consists of six Vice Chancellors, three Provosts, three Rectors and eight other key stakeholders drawn from the Ministry of Education, Tetfund, NUC, NBTE and NCCE was inaugurated on Thursday, 10th August, 2017 at Abuja by the Executive Secretary of TETFund, Dr. Abdullahi Bichi Baffa. The Committee is headed by Prof. Olufemi Bamiro, former Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan.

In the letter of appointment signed by the ES Executive Secretary, it was clearly stated that that the members of the Committee were selected for this important national assignment based on their outstanding scholarship and sterling academic leadership.

The National Research Fund (NRF) was established pursuant to the Tertiary Education Trust Fund Act 2011 for the resuscitation of research activities in Nigeria’s public tertiary institutions. It is also aimed at addressing the critical needs of the nation’s developmental aspirations through cutting edge research.

The Committee is to prequalify and screen all applications, make recommendations to TETFund for fund allocation, serve as members of the NRF Proposal Defense Panel and monitor the utilisation of funds allocated as well as advise TETFund on research matters. The maximum research grant under the NRF is N50 million naira as opposed to IBR (Institutional Based Research) which is a maximum of N2 million naira only. The NRF currently has over N2.2 billion NRF research fund that is yet to be accessed.