Adeyemi College gets new student union president

Students of Adeyemi College of Education (ACE) Ondo have elected a new President to pilot the affairs of their union for the 2017/2018 academic session. He is Zubair Taofeek Bidemi.

The new student Union leader polled 859 votes to defeat three other contestants, Abiola Jubril Tolani, Ezuduemoh Ekhaiegba and Daniyan Olutayo O, who had 781, 386, and 146 votes to clinch second, third and fourth positions respectively.

The election which was done through e-voting system and handled by Staunton and Lycett Nigeria limited, a College consultant on ICT, was introduced three years ago by the incumbent Provost of the College, Prof. Olukoya Joseph Ogen.

Announcing other results of the election held on Tuesday, September 26, 2017, the Chairman of the Adeyemi College of Education Electoral Committee (ACEELECO), Arowogun Adebowale Tolulope stated that Adediran Adijat A who was the sole candidate for the post of Vice President got 1,286 votes while Isaac Israel Timilehin who contested for the Post of General Secretary got 774 votes to defeat his closest rival, Ojerinde Peter O who had 745 votes.

For the post of Treasurer, Oladoye Dorcas O who is also the sole candidate got 1,192 votes while Olotu Wole Clement who contested with Elibe Moses Emeka for Post of Director of Welfare had 846 votes to defeat the latter.

Similarly, Bello Gafar Adedayo who polled 1137 votes was declared winner as Director of sports and Recreation after defeating Gbose Orire Samuelson who had 480 votes.

Also for the post of Director of Social and Culture, Azeez Michael Ajakaiye who polled 770 was declared winner having defeated Olasupo Olayemi Asiat and  Olusesi Michael Don Mikky who had 636 and 388 votes respectively.

For the post of Public Relations Oficer, Onamusi Abidemi Samson who scored 776 was declared winner while Ogunkanmi O. Babafemi who scored 665 got the second position.

Also for the post of Assistant Secretary General, Director of Finance and Deputy Director of Welfare, Oloyede Anuoluwa, Oderemi Peter, and Faleye Philip Oladayo who had 1231, 1217 and 750 votes were declared winners.

Speaking after hearing the announcement of the result of the election by the ACE ELECO Chairman, Arowoogun, the Deputy Provost of the College Dr. Samuel Akintunde who spoke on behalf of the Provost, Prof. Olukoya Ogen, congratulated the students for the successful conduct of the exercise.

 He stressed the need for the winners to be magnanimous in victory by embracing those who contested with them adding that all hands must be on deck to take the college to greater height.

He assured students of continued support of the College Management and said the Provost would continue to play his leadership role in his resolve at sustaining academic excellence in the institution adding that the College helmsman has indicated intension to bring everybody together by organizing reception for all those who participated in the election.

The provost urged the students to sustain the peaceful atmosphere in the College while calling on the new elected officials to emulate their predecessors by sustaining the legacy bequeathed to them.

Also speaking the Dean Student Affairs, Mr. Olaniyi Olaluwoye expressed satisfaction over the conduct and success of the election. He lauded the Provost of the College ,Prof. Olukoya Ogen, for introducing the e-voting system saying the move has enhanced free, fair and credible exercise in the conduct of student Union election in the Institution.

He expressed appreciation to the officials of Staunton and Lycett Nigeria limited for providing Technical services as well as the Management Information system (MIS) for their support.

 Olaluwoye also expressed appreciation to the College Information Unit, Acting Director of the MIS, Dr. Kehinde Adenegan and Chief Executive Officer of ACE Television (ACETV) for the coverage of the exercise

He also commended the students of the institution especially those in charge of ABICO FM as well as members of ACE Electoral Committee for contributing positively to the success of the election.

The Dean Student Affairs also appreciated the support received from the College Management, National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) and other stakeholders from within and outside the college during the conduct of the exercise.

On his advice to the newly elected Officials, Olaluwoye admonished them to emulate their predecessors by ensuring that peace reign during their tenure.

He advised those who took part in the election and did not win not to despair but join hands with the winners to move the college forward.

He said “My advice to them is to cooperate with those who emerge winners. They should give them ideas that would make them succeed. They should not go behind and work against them”

“The best thing is for all hands to be on deck to move Adeyemi College forward especially now that we are waiting for the restoration of our University status” he stated.

The announcement of the election which took place at the Provost office complex was witnessed by important personalities which include the Deputy provost, Dr. Samuel Akintunde, Dean of student Affairs, Mr. Olaniyi Olaluwoye, his Vice, Mr. Olukayode Ojo Akinola, Chief Security Officer (CSO) of the College Lt. col. Olorunfemi Onoba (Rtd); members of ACE ELECO, ACETV, Staff and Students to mention but a few.

Meanwhile, the announcement of the election has elicited reactions in the college as some Students were seen jubilating while others gathered in small groups discussing the development.

A cross section of the staff and students of the College who spoke on the exercise commended the Provost; Prof. Olukoya Ogen for the innovation stating that the introduction of the e-voting system has brought peace and sanity into electoral process in the institution