The School is the largest School with many of its Departments established with the College in 1964. It comprises seven departments, namely: Department of Biology, Department of Chemistry, Department of Computer Science, Department of Integrated Science, Department of Mathematics, Department of Physical and Health Education and Department of Physics.

Students are exposed to the scientific principles and techniques during classroom teaching, practical exercises and field trips as means of demonstrating academic and professional excellence in teaching science.

Many graduates of the School are distinguishing themselves in diverse careers in the society such as teachers, politicians, scholars and information communication experts.  A number of academic staff is occupying relevant Collensis positions of responsibility thereby contributing to the growth and development of the College.  

Philosophy of the School

The philosophy of the School is to:

-         produce competent, professional and effective teachers of science education who will be able to develop in students an appreciation and understanding of Mathematics and Science.

-         impart the intrinsic values as well as the utility values of Mathematics and Science in all spheres of human activities.

-         develop in the students the ability to formulate problems, identify variables and design experiments, interpret results, recognize patterns, generate hypothesis, draw conclusions and develop theoretical models.

-         develop academic and professional competency which will enable individual earn a living.

-         help students become intellectually informed in Mathematical ideas, notations and skills for logical reasoning.


To realise the stated philosophy above, the School has the following objectives:

(i)        to equip the students to be able to demonstrate practical skills in handling scientific apparatus.

(ii)       to equip the student to be able to demonstrate excellence and professional competence in the teaching of Mathematics and Science subjects.

(iii)     to develop an individual who will make a successful carrier in Mathematics and Science teaching.

Staff and Student Profile

The School has eighty nine (89) academic staff and thirty three (33)  administrative staff. Many of the academic staff holds Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) degree in their discipline while the rest are at one level or the other to obtain theirs.The School of Science has the largest student population.


The College was represented by a student of the School in the 2013 National Youth Debate Competition organized by the Federal Ministry of Education, Abuja involving all tertiary institutions in Nigeria. The student came first for the zonal level and came second at the National level.


Various Subject Combinations in the School

Below are the subject combinations for the Nigeria Certificate in Education (NCE) programme in the School.




Computer Science / Economics

Computer Science /Chemistry

Computer Science / Integrated Science

Computer Science / Adult Education

Computer Science / Primary Education Studies

Computer Science /Mathematics

Computer Science / Physics

Integrated Science /Biology

Integrated Science /Physics

Integrated Science /Chemistry

Integrated Science /Mathematics

Integrated Science /Geography



Physical and Health Education/Biology

Physical and Health Education/Early Childhood Care Education

Physical and Health Education/Mathematics

Physical and Health Education/Integrated Science

Physical and Health Education/Chemistry

Physical and Health Education Double Major



The under-listed are the undergraduates (B.Sc) Education programmes.

B.Sc (Ed) Biology

B.Sc (Ed) Chemistry

B.Sc (Ed) Integrated Science/Mathematics

B.Sc (Ed) Mathematics

B.Sc (Ed) Physics

B.Sc (Ed) Physical and Health Education

The School of Science had been administered by the following Deans since its inception:

  • Dr. F. O. Balogun (current dean)
  • Dr. M. O. Oladimeji
  • Dr. A. Koleoso
  • Dr. B. S. Adeyemi
  • Dr. T. Akinsanmi - 1st August 2001 – 31st August 2003
  • Dr. (Mrs.) I. Ogunlade  - 1st August 2003 – 31st August 2005
  • Mr. A. B. Aganga - 1st August 2005 – 31st July 2007
  • Dr. T. Akinsanmi   - 1st August 2007 – 7th February 2009
  • Dr. A. O. Ogungbenro - 8th February 2005 – 31st July 2011
  • Mr. B. F. Akinwale - 1st August 2011 – 31st July 2013
  • Dr. F. O. Balogun  - 1st August 2013 – date

The School has some academic journals which attract contributors across the tertiary educational and research institutions.  Reflections on the global trends in science and technology during seminars and conferences are published in referenced books and journals.



F. O. Balogun   

(NCE, B.Sc. M.Sc. M.Tech, PGDCS, Ph.D)



R. O. Sanni

B.Sc., M.Sc., PGDE

Vice Dean



B.Sc. (Hons),  PGDE M.Sc., Dip (Comp.Science),Ph.D

Head, Department of Biology


BABAJIDE Jelili Olalekan,

B.Sc, (Hons) M.Sc. Dip (Comp.Science) PGDE Ph.D.

Head, Department of Chemistry


Aroyehun A.A.

B.Sc., PGD, (Comp. Science), M.Sc., Ph.D

Head, Department of Computer Science


Akinwande D.D.

B.Sc., PGDE, M.Sc.

Head, Department of Integrated Science


A.B. Ipinlaye

B.Sc., M.Sc. PGDE

Head, Department of Mathematics


Adebayo A.A.

N.C.E B.Sc.(Ed.) M.Ed, Dip. (Computer Science)

Head, Department of Physical and Health Education


Mrs. O. O. Adeoye-Oladapo

B.Sc., (Ed.) PG., M.Tech

Head, Department of Physics




F. O. Balogun

NCE, B.Sc. M.Sc. M.Tech, PGDCS, Ph.D


Vice Dean

R. O. Sanni

B.Sc., M.Sc., PGDE



School Officer

Mrs. K.A. Balogun



Confidential Secretary I

Mrs. P.O. Olowoyo

WAEC, Con. Secretary Grade II, Advance NABTEB

Diploma in Computer


Assistant Executive Office

Mr. K.N. Omaghe



Chief Clerical Officer

Mr. OF. Asoore

S.S.C.E, N.C.E, Diploma in computer


Contact Us

Name *